Category: Mini Tort

>
June 27, 2019

On June 11, 2019, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer enacted a significant new Michigan mini tort law change when she signed Michigan’s new No-Fault insurance law.

Read this post
>
January 2, 2017

What you need to know on the Michigan Mini Tort maximum recovery limit, getting your car fixed and paid for, what do do if you’re in a crash with an uninsured driver, time limits to file a claim Now that winter is upon us, our attorneys are seeing a sharp increase in questions and phone …

Read this post
>
March 4, 2016

Learn about whether a rental car company can recover under the Mini Tort law after an accident I recently received an interesting question about when a rental car company can use the Mini Tort to recover for accident-related damage to one of its rental cars., and I wanted to share my answer today. Q. I had an automobile …

Read this post
>
May 30, 2014

How to hold a driver responsible for vehicle damage under the Michigan mini tort Under Michigan’s mini tort law, car accident victims can recover a maximum of $1,000 for vehicle damage from the driver who caused the crash, via his or her auto insurance company. This is called a mini tort claim. The mini tort …

Read this post
>
May 19, 2014

Motorcycle accident victims want to know if the Michigan mini tort law will cover the cost of some of their motorcycle repairs As the weather finally warms up to bearable temps after our polar vortex winter, we’re seeing more and more motorcyclists out and about. And although it’s still early in the season, our attorneys …

Read this post
>
May 1, 2014

After a crash, is a mini tort claim available for uninsured drivers in Michigan? Questions about the Michigan mini tort are one of the most common inquiries our accident attorneys receive. Many drivers want to know obviously how they can get their car damage covered. There is good news here, and bad news. The good …

Read this post
>
September 13, 2013

How to get up to $1,000 of your car’s vehicle damage covered under the state Mini Tort Law Under the Michigan Mini Tort Law, you can recover up to $1,000 for vehicle damage from the driver who has caused vehicle damage to your car. This is called a Mini Tort claim. And this is one …

Read this post
>
January 15, 2013

Tips for when an at-fault driver who causes damage to your car refuses to pay your mini tort claim Last week, I wrote about filing your Mini Tort claim for car damage in small claims court. Yes, I do recognize that most people would rather go to a dentist than go to court. But sometimes, …

Read this post
>
January 7, 2013

What Michigan drivers must do when small claims court is their last resort for their Mini Tort claim Most people do not want to go to court. But sometimes it’s a necessary last resort. That’s especially true when a person’s car or truck has been damaged in an accident and the at-fault driver and his auto …

Read this post