Category: Auto Safety

April 19, 2022

Distracted driving includes anything that takes away a driver’s focus and attention from the road. Distractions most often today involve drivers using a cell phone, whether that involves texting, talking, streaming, or even using apps while driving. It is a widespread danger that is unfortunately getting worse every year. Car crashes where the driver’s focus …

Read this post
April 12, 2022

April is distracted driving awareness month. Let’s use this time to save lives and prevent car accidents. Distracted driving is as dangerous as drunk driving. It poses serious dangers for all drivers, but especially teen drivers. Research has shown that a driver’s risk of being involved in a car accident increases dramatically when he or …

Read this post
March 22, 2022

If you were hit by a drunk driver in Michigan and if he or she was at-fault, then you may be able to sue for: (1) pain and suffering compensation; (2) wrongful damages if you lost a loved one; (3) medical bills and lost wages that are not covered by car insurance; and (4) mini …

Read this post
March 8, 2022

The Michigan texting and driving law is intended to stop people from texting while operating a motor vehicle. Texting drivers are 23x more likely to be involved in a crash than non-texting drivers. This blog provides an overview of Michigan law as of 2022. The goal of Michigan’s texting law is to help make our …

Read this post
February 24, 2022

Leaving the scene of an accident in Michigan is a crime. The penalties include fines, jail and driver’s license points and suspension. A driver who has been involved in a crash must: (1) stop; (2) provide personal information; (3) present a driver’s license; and (4) help secure medical aid for anyone injured. The crime of …

Read this post
February 16, 2022

Michigan drunk driving accident statistics show that drivers with more than the legal limit of alcohol in their systems are 7 times more likely to be in a fatal crash and 6 to 17 times more likely to be killed. 30% of all fatal crashes in Michigan are alcohol-related and occur between the hours of …

Read this post
February 10, 2022

If you are not a Michigan resident, but you drive your out-of-state vehicle for more than 90 days in Michigan, you will need to register your vehicle with the Michigan Secretary of State. Otherwise, you could be found guilty of a misdemeanor and ordered to pay a $100 fine and/or face up to 90 days …

Read this post
January 26, 2022

It’s January, so let’s discuss the Michigan cell phone law 2022 and make this the safest year yet. Key takeaways are that it is against the law for any driver in Michigan to text while driving. Talking on the phone while driving is banned only for teens on a driver’s permit, truck drivers and school …

Read this post
January 11, 2022

The best way to survive a snowstorm in your car is to be prepared and have a plan for what to do to keep you and your family safe. Your snowstorm safety plan should include: (1) emergency supplies; (2) remaining inside your vehicle; (3) staying warm; and (4) being able to call and signal rescuers …

Read this post