Category: Traffic Laws

June 21, 2022

Michigan’s distracted driving laws prohibit drivers on Michigan roads from texting while driving. This applies to all drivers. In addition, truck drivers, school bus drivers and some teen drivers also  cannot use or talk on a cell phone while they are driving.  Penalties for violating Michigan’s distracted driving laws will depend on whether a person …

Read this post
June 9, 2022

The electric skateboard laws in Michigan generally require riders to follow the same traffic laws that apply to cars and trucks, except that electric skateboards can be driven on both certain roads and on sidewalks. They also cannot be driven at more than 25 mph. Riders must be 12 or older. Helmets must be worn …

Read this post
February 24, 2022

Leaving the scene of an accident in Michigan is a crime. The penalties include fines, jail and driver’s license points and suspension. A driver who has been involved in a crash must: (1) stop; (2) provide personal information; (3) present a driver’s license; and (4) help secure medical aid for anyone injured. The crime of …

Read this post
February 10, 2022

If you are not a Michigan resident, but you drive your out-of-state vehicle for more than 90 days in Michigan, you will need to register your vehicle with the Michigan Secretary of State. Otherwise, you could be found guilty of a misdemeanor and ordered to pay a $100 fine and/or face up to 90 days …

Read this post
January 11, 2022

The best way to survive a snowstorm in your car is to be prepared and have a plan for what to do to keep you and your family safe. Your snowstorm safety plan should include: (1) emergency supplies; (2) remaining inside your vehicle; (3) staying warm; and (4) being able to call and signal rescuers …

Read this post
October 1, 2021

Generally, you can pass a school bus in Michigan if it is in motion or its red lights are not flashing. However, if it has stopped and its red lights are flashing, then you must stop and wait until it resumes motion and turns off its lights. Unlawfully driving around one will result in fines, …

Read this post
August 10, 2021

It is important to know what to do when traffic lights are out at an intersection. Michigan law requires that drivers treat it as a 4-way stop, which means stopping before entering the intersection, following the right-of-way rules and exercising “ordinary care” as you drive through the intersection. Do you know what to do when …

Read this post
July 29, 2021

You do not have to wear a seatbelt in the back seat in Michigan if you are 16 years of age or older. If you are between the ages of 8 and 15, then you must wear a safety belt in both the back and front seats. (MCL 257.710e(3)(b) and (5)) Children under 8 must …

Read this post
July 27, 2021

U turns are technically legal in Michigan in that state law does not specifically prohibit them, although cities, villages and towns can do so. They must be “made in safety” and not otherwise violate any state or local traffic safety laws. Drivers using this driving maneuver must always yield the right of way to other …

Read this post