Michigan Personal Injury Protection Benefits
Our insurance lawyers explain the five PIP benefits you’re entitled to if you’re seriously injured in a car accident
When a car accident or truck accident has occurred in Michigan, the auto accident victim can recover auto insurance benefits from her own insurance company, pursuant to the Michigan No-Fault law. Michigan insurance lawyers call this a first-party car accident case. These economic benefits are also called Michigan personal injury protection benefits, PIP benefits and No-Fault insurance benefits. They include medical expenses, payment for mileage to and from medical appointments, wage loss, household replacement services and attendant care.
Here is a breakdown of Michigan PIP benefits from the No-Fault lawyers of Michigan Auto Law that you can read – and watch:
The medical expense provision of the Michigan No-Fault law provides reimbursement for all medical expenses incurred due to your personal injuries from the auto accident. Dependent upon the type of insurance coverage involved, these may be coordinated benefits, which pay all expenses not covered by your basic health insurance; or full benefits, which pay all medical expenses incurred, even if those are paid by a health insurance provider. Medical expenses are a lifetime benefit.
Part of the medical expense provision of the Michigan No-Fault act provides for reimbursement of transportation expenses, including expenses for mileage to and from doctors’ offices, hospitals and rehabilitation clinics, or bus and taxi fare in the event you do not drive. Please keep a detailed record of your mileage expenses and submit them to the insurance company along with your other medical bills.
The wage loss provision of the Michigan No-Fault law will reimburse you for 85 percent of any wages lost as a result of your injuries, up to a statutory monthly maximum that is adjusted every year. For accidents that October 1, 2018 through September 30, 2019, No-Fault wage loss benefits shall not exceed $5,700 per single 30-day period. Wage loss is payable for three years from the date of the accident.
Household Replacement Services
The replacement services provision of the Michigan No-Fault act will pay up to $20 a day for any services you previously did for yourself now must hire someone else to do because you are unable to carry them out due to your auto accident injuries. Replacement services can be performed by family members and can include investment income, housekeeping, lawn and garden maintenance, car maintenance, meal preparation, baby-sitting/child care and driving family members to school and appointments.
Pursuant to the Michigan No-Fault act, attendant care benefits are recoverable in the event of serious personal injury from an auto accident. Attendant care benefits are also referred to as nursing services, and are defined by attendant care lawyers as “activities of daily living,” such as monitoring and supervision for safety reasons, administering medication, bathing, dressing, ambulation, styling/combing of hair, other grooming, help using the toilet, driving the patient, fetching things for the patient, carrying and lifting things for the patient, and wound care. Attendant care can be preformed by nurses, as well as family members or legal guardians who perform nursing services. Family members or legal guardians who perform the attendant care services are entitled to compensation.
Getting Your PIP Benefits
There are some important steps you must take in securing your No-Fault PIP benefits. First, you must immediately file a No-Fault application for benefits with the applicable insurance carrier. This application MUST be filed within one (1) year from the date of the accident, or you will forever lose any benefits to which you might be entitled. Reimbursement for your benefits will not begin until you’ve filed this application.
Here is a sample application for No-Fault insurance benefits from the state of Michigan: Application for Bodily Injury Benefits
Your auto insurance company may require its own version. Please read about the importance of injury documentation and beware of masked injuries, as you will be asked to describe your injuries on this form. If you have problems filling out this form, please do not hesitate to call Michigan Auto Law at (800) 777-0028.
Secondly, if there are any items of reimbursable expense that are not paid by your insurance carrier, you must file a lawsuit for those particular items within one (1) year from the date the expenses were incurred. If this lawsuit is not filed within that one-year period, you will lose all rights to reimbursement for those expense items.
Our Lawyers Can Help
Michigan Auto Law is the state’s largest law firm practicing exclusively in car accident, truck accident and motorcycle accident cases. We have helped injury victims throughout Michigan for more than 50 years and three generations. Our lawyers understand that dealing with Michigan No-Fault insurance laws can be challenging, and we can help obtain your personal injury protection (PIP) benefits. It’s never too early, or too late to contact a Michigan PIP attorney with any questions about time limits for documenting and filing auto accident injury claims. To speak with a lawyer directly, please call (800) 777-0028 or fill out our consultation form.