Our mini tort lawyers frequently receive questions from car accident and truck accident victims about their vehicle damage. Under Michigan’s mini tort law, victims of auto accidents can only recover a maximum of $1,000 (as of Oct. 1, 2012) for vehicle damage from the driver who caused the crash. This is called a mini tort claim.
The state of Michigan does not require a driver to have collision coverage. If you do not have collision coverage on your vehicle, you can recoup some of your out-of-pocket costs for vehicle repairs via the mini tort law. The mini tort also applies if your coverage is limited or you have a collision deductible — and you are less than 50 percent at fault for the accident.
Mini tort only covers vehicle damage. If you were injured in an auto accident, please visit our no-fault lawyers resource center to read more about what benefits you’re entitled to from your first- and third-party cases.
For more information about Michigan mini tort, take a look at our pages on:
The purpose of Michigan’s mini tort law is not to pay for all of your vehicle damage, but to compensate a person involved in a car accident that is not her fault for out-of-pocket expenses incurred from the collision. Listen to this podcast to learn about how to get some of the cost of your car damage reimbursed under the Michigan Mini Tort Law.
Mini tort lawyer answers common questions about filing a mini tort claim in Michigan.
Michigan Auto Law is the state’s largest law firm specializing in car accidents, truck accidents and motorcycle accidents. We have helped injury victims throughout Michigan for more than 50 years and three generations. Our lawyers understand that dealing with Michigan no-fault insurance laws can be challenging, and we can help you obtain your mini tort and other important Michigan no-fault insurance benefits. To speak with a mini tort attorney directly, please call (800) 777-0028, or fill out our consultation form. We are happy to help.