How Long After A Car Accident Can I Claim Injury in Michigan?
1 Year For First-Party No-Fault Benefits & 3 Years For Third-Party No-Fault Benefits
After a car accident in Michigan, you have 1 year from the date of the accident to file a first-party No-Fault benefits car accident injury claim and 3 years from the date of the accident to file a third-party No-Fault benefits injury claim.
These time limits are known as the “statute of limitations” and pertain to bodily injury and wrongful death claims.
With the challenges of today’s laws and with the statute of limitations, lawyers are truly racing against the clock to protect their clients. With that in mind, it’s critical to ensure that you’re receiving complete and appropriate medical care for all of your injuries — within the first three months of a crash.
If you’re having trouble getting timely referrals and/or appointments with specialists and doctors, it’s best to contact an auto lawyer, who can help you:
- Navigate managed care plans,
- Write appeal letters for denial of care,
- Find specialists who can see you quickly,
- Instruct medical providers on how to bill, and
- Point out possible delayed, late appearing injuries that could be harming you or getting progressively worse.
When injured victims do not have medical insurance, they must have these tests and exams done while their car accident injury claim is “open.” It can be nearly impossible to have these tests after the injured person’s No-Fault insurance benefits have been unnecessarily “cut off,” a common and unethical process by Michigan auto insurance companies.
An experienced Michigan auto lawyer can quickly identify how an accident victim can treat and legally document injuries, in order to fully recover after a crash.
Call (248) 353-7575 to speak with an auto lawyer now, or fill out our free consultation form. We can help you get the right medical care, and avoid delays that could harm your health and your car accident injury claim.