Have you been injured? you may have a case. GET A FREE CONSULTATION

Costs for small claims court in Michigan

September 7, 2012 by Steven M. Gursten

Many people in auto accidents often ask our lawyers about the costs for small claims and how small claims court works in  Michigan. This is often after people are involved in a fender-bender and they have questions about getting their vehicle damage paid for and how the Michigan mini tort law works. We hope the following information helps.

Costs to file in small claims court are as follows:

Claim amount                   Filing fee
$1-$650                            $25 + cost of certified mail or personal service
$651-$1,750                      $45 + cost of certified mail or personal service
$1,751-$3,000                   $65 + cost of certified mail or personal service

There are other possible fees including motion fees, witness/subpoena fees, fees if the process server is sent to the wrong address, etc.

It should also be noted that the mini tort fee will change from $25 to $45 on October 1, 2012, and the maximum amount that people can recover under the mini tort for car damage is changing from $500 to $1,000.

– Steve Gursten is an experienced car accident lawyer at Michigan Auto Law, Michigan’s largest law firm specializing in serious automobile accidents. Steve wrote the book, How to Repair Your Car Damage.

Michigan Auto Law helps people injured  in car accident, truck accident and motorcycle accident cases throughout the entire state. We have offices in Farmington Hills, Detroit, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids and Sterling Heights. Call (800) 777-0028 to speak with one of our lawyers.

[Community Guidelines]

Related Posts
100 Deadliest Days of Summer For Teen Drivers | Michigan Auto Law
100 Deadliest Days of Summer for Teen Drivers
June 17, 2019
what happens if a friend wrecked my car featured image
What Happens If A Friend Wrecked My Car, Are They Covered?
June 6, 2019
What to do after an Uber accident or Lyft accident
What to do after an Uber or Lyft accident
February 18, 2019
Michigan has a new auto No-Fault law. Click Here to learn more.