Have you been injured? you may have a case.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Trucking Laws

About Commercial Drivers Licence Tests

Steps to obtain commercial driver’s license

There are several steps involved in obtaining a commercial drivers license (CDL) in Michigan.

1. Physical exam

The truck driver must pass a physical examination by a qualified medical practitioner to prove that he has the physical capability to handle a large truck without medical restrictions.

2. Drug test

The driver must also take a drug test. If the driver passes the exam, he receives a medical certificate that’s valid for two years.

3. Written test

The next part is a written test modeled after the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administration guide. Most states, including Michigan, use this written test.

4. Additional certifications

There are additional tests a truck driver may be required to take for combination vehicles, air braked vehicles, double or triple tractor-trailers or hazardous materials.

5. Road skills test

Once the written exam is completed, the driver then takes a road skills test, which consists of three parts:

  1. Understanding the pre-trip inspection.
  2. Learning about basic vehicle controls.
  3. Successfully completing the actual road skills test.

Get help from a lawyer today

To speak with one of our experienced lawyers, call Michigan Auto Law at (800) 777-0028, or fill out our free contact form. There’s no fee or obligation.

For more information on how Michigan Auto Law can help you, take a look at testimonials from other truck accident victims. You can also read about our 100 percent client satisfaction guarantee and our special truck attorney qualifications.

Michigan has a new auto No-Fault law. Click Here to learn more.