Proof of Michigan No-Fault Insurance
Attorney Commentary on No-Fault Statute: MCL 500.3101a
Certificates of insurance; proof of insurance; confidentiality; false information; penalty
Once a driver has purchased a No-Fault car insurance policy for a motor vehicle, the auto insurance company must provide him or her with “1 certificate of insurance for each insured vehicle.”
The car insurance company must also provide the following information to the Secretary of State for “each insured vehicle”:
- The car insurance company’s name.
- The name of the named insured on the policy for the insured vehicle.
- The named insured’s address.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN) for each vehicle listed on the policy.
- The policy number.
The auto insurance company’s transmission of a vehicle’s VIN “shall” be accepted by the Secretary of State “as proof of vehicle insurance . . . for motor vehicle registration purposes only . . .”
Additionally, the “[p]olicy information submitted by an insurer and received by the secretary of state under this section is confidential.”
Finally, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor (punishable by a year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine) if he or she “supplies false information to the secretary of state” or “issues or uses an altered, fraudulent, or counterfeit certificate of insurance.”
No-Fault Attorneys of Michigan Auto Law
The attorneys of Michigan Auto Law have been specializing in auto No-Fault litigation for more than 50 years. If you have been injured in a car, truck or motorcycle accident and want information about your No-Fault rights, please call one of our experienced auto accident lawyers for a free case evaluation at (800) 777-0028 or fill out our consultation form. There is no fee or obligation.
We are here to help you.