Limited Property Damage Coverage (Mini Tort) For Your Car Damage
If your car is damaged in an auto accident, the limited property damage coverage (Michigan mini tort law) allows you to recover up to $1,000 from the at-fault driver’s insurance company for your vehicle damage repair costs. Starting July, 1, 2020 the $1,000 limit increases to $3,000.
Mini tort (limited liability coverage) is an optional insurance coverage.
Our advice is to purchase this coverage, as well as additional collision insurance, to protect yourself in case of an accident with extensive car damage.
Why? People who have more than $1,000 (or $3,000 after July 1, 2020) in damage but who don’t have collision coverage find it terribly unfair that a person who caused the car accident is not responsible for full amount of repairs and vehicle damage.
If you choose to forgo minit tort coverage and you cause an accident, you will still be required to pay up to $1,000 (or up to $3,000 after July 1, 2020) for the vehicle damage – out of your own pocket.
For more information, take a look at our comprehensive resource center on the Michigan mini tort.