Have you been injured? you may have a case.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

GET A FREE CONSULTATION

Michigan Auto Law Blog

July 29, 2021

You do not have to wear a seatbelt in the back seat in Michigan if you are 16 years of age or older. If you are between the ages of 8 and 15, then you must wear a safety belt in both the back and front seats. (MCL 257.710e(3)(b) and (5)) Children under 8 must …

Read this post
July 27, 2021

U turns are technically legal in Michigan in that state law does not specifically prohibit them, although cities, villages and towns can do so. They must be “made in safety” and not otherwise violate any state or local traffic safety laws. Drivers using this driving maneuver must always yield the right of way to other …

Read this post
July 22, 2021

You can turn left on a red light in Michigan if you are turning left from a 1-way or 2-way street onto a 1-way street if the traffic is traveling in the direction of your left turn. While you can turn left on a red light, bicyclists, pedestrians, and all traffic using the street have …

Read this post
July 20, 2021

If you have suffered a brain injury after a car accident, you are able to recover compensation and pain and suffering damages from the at-fault driver responsible for the crash. You can also recover No-Fault insurance benefits to pay medical bills and lost wages, replacement services and other economic loss damages. An experienced attorney will …

Read this post
July 16, 2021

On July 15, 2021, Gov. Whitmer approved a $25 million Post-Acute Care Auto Injury Provider Relief Fund as a result of the new auto No-Fault law’s medical fee schedule. The fund was created by Senate Bill 28. It was the result of a House substitution bill introduced and approved by the Michigan House of Representatives …

Read this post
July 13, 2021

Michigan DIFS must act now to protect auto policyholders’ rights to No-Fault medical coverage. Insurance companies are using the new auto No-Fault law to improperly deny attendant care for people catastrophically injured in car accidents before the new auto law took effect, denying vital No-Fault medical care and attendant care benefits. As Michigan DIFS Director …

Read this post
July 6, 2021

Texting and driving statistics show that a driver who engages in this behavior is 23 times more likely to be in a crash. The data shows that this is also more dangerous than drinking and driving and even though 94% of drivers think it is “extremely dangerous,” more than one-third still will text and drive …

Read this post
July 1, 2021

The most important thing to do if you get a flat tire on the highway is to get yourself, your passengers and your vehicle safely out of and away from traffic. Slow down, but do not stop in traffic. Carefully steer your vehicle to the shoulder, or even better, off the freeway and onto a …

Read this post
June 30, 2021

The number one tip for airbag safety for short drivers is keeping a safe distance from the air-bag in their steering wheel. NHTSA recommends that there be 10 inches between the air-bag cover and a driver’s breastbone. This is best achieved by adjusting your seat position or through the use of pedal extensions. Only in …

Read this post