Michigan school zone speed limit laws require drivers to reduce their speed by as much as 20 mph when they are near a school either in the morning when school starts or in the afternoon after school lets out. Speeders will face a fine and points on their license and possible criminal penalties if they cause injury.
To learn more, check out WZZM TV 13’s interview with Michigan Auto Law attorney Brandon Hewitt:
What is the speed limit in a school zone in Michigan?
In Michigan, the speed limit in a school zone is generally no more than 20 miles per hour lower than the “normally posted” limit on that stretch of road. However, it will not go below 25 mph. (MCL 257.627a(2))
Is there a minimum speed limit for a school zone?
The slowest speed limit that can be set for a school zone is 25 mph. (MCL 257.627a(2))
What is a school zone?
A “school zone” includes the property on which the school building is located and 1,000 feet from the school property line in any direction. (MCL 257.627a(1)(c))
When does the school zone speed limit apply?
In Michigan, the school zone speed limit generally applies during the 30-minute period before school starts in the morning and during the 30-minute period after school lets out in the afternoon. (MCL 257.627a(2))
Is violating the permitted speed a criminal offense?
Under Michigan’s Vehicle Code, viloating the permitted speed is a “civil infraction.” (MCL 257.627a(7))
Normally, the fine for speeding is a $100. (MCL 257.907(2)(a)) However, the fine for speeding in a school zone is doubled to $200. A “moving violation” such as this offense “is subject to a fine that is double the fine otherwise prescribed for that moving violation.” (MCL 257.601b(1))
Points on license
In Michigan, depending on how much over the speed limit you are going in a school zone, you could get between 1 and 4 points on your driver’s license. If your speeding in a school zone results in an at-fault crash, then you could get 4 points on your license and you will likely get sued by the injured person.
Here are more details about the points that can be put on your driver’s license for driving over the permitted speed:
- 4 points for exceeding the permitted speed “by more than 15 miles per hour.” (MCL 257.320a(1)(h))
- 4 points for a “moving violation” such as speeding in a school zone that results “in an at-fault collision with another vehicle, a person, or any other object.” (MCL 257.320a(1)(l))
- 3 points for exceeding the school zone speed limit “by more than 10 miles per hour but not more than 15 miles per hour.” (MCL 257.320a(1)(n))
- 2 points for exceeding the school zone speed limit “by more than 5 miles per hour but not more than 10 miles per hour.” (MCL 257.320a(1)(p))
- 1 point for exceeding the school zone speed limit by “by more than 1 mile per hour but not more than 5 miles per hour.” (MCL 257.320a(1)(q))
What happens if I violate the speed limit in a school zone and I injure someone?
In Michigan, if you are exceeding the school zone speed limit by more than 10 mph and you injure or kill someone in the school zone, then you may be found guilty of a crime and forced to pay a fine and/or possibly be sent to jail or prison.
Injuring a person is a misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 1 year in jail. (MCL 257.601b(2))
Taking the life of someone is a felony which is punishable by a fine up to $7,500 and/or up to 15 years in prison. (MCL 257.601b(3))
Injured by a Michigan driver who violated the school zone speed limit? Contact a Michigan Auto Law attorney now
If you or a loved one has suffered serious injuries after being injured by a speeding driver in a school zone and you have questions about your legal rights to pain and suffering compensation, economic damages and auto No-Fault insurance benefits, you can speak to an experienced auto accident lawyer at (248) 353-7575 for a free consultation. You can also get help from an experienced auto accident attorney by visiting our contact page or you can use the chat feature on our website.