I was recently interviewed by The Associated Press for a story on Detroit’s car insurance crisis. Specifically, why the rates are among the highest in the nation.
One of the questions the reporter asked me was, “What’s the penalty for driving with no proof of auto insurance in Michigan?” I also get this question often from my loved ones and the people I help as an auto accident attorney, so I thought I would share the answer today.
To start, according to the 36th District Court’s website, the fine for driving with “No Proof of Insurance” is $186 within 21 days and $226 after 21 days. That goes for Detroit residents.
Similar to the Detroit rule, there’s a state statute that addresses failure to provide proof of insurance. It says that failure to provide proof of insurance is a “civil infraction” and can result (if proof of insurance is not eventually provided) in having to surrender one’s driver’s license and in suspension of one’s driver’s license by the Secretary of State. MCL 257.328(1) and (4).
But the difference between driving without proof of insurance and driving without insurance is stark. For more information on all of the serious dangers of driving without Michigan No Fault insurance, take a look at my recent blog post, “Top 9 risks of driving uninsured in Michigan.”
Here’s a teaser: Michigan law states that a person convicted of a misdemeanor for driving uninsured in Michigan “shall be fined not less than $200.00 nor more than $500.00, imprisoned for not more than 1 year, or both.” (MCL 500.3102(2))