I’ve been getting a lot of questions about Michigan’s car seat law. Very few laws involve so much confusion. Everyone has heard something different about what age and what size a child has to be to remain in their car seats.
So, here’s Michigan’s car seat law in three simple steps:
- Children under 4 years old: Must be properly secured in a child restraint system and positioned in the vehicle’s rear seat.
- Children between 4 and 8 years old: And less than 4 feet 9 inches in height, must be properly secured according to your car seat manufacturer’s and vehicle manufacturer’s instructions.
- Children between 8 and 16 years old: Must wear a seat belt in the front and back seats.
For more information, take a look at my blog on Michigan’s car seat law, which includes recommendations from the Michigan State Police and the Office of Highway Safety Planning.