The wrongful death of a loved one is the most tragic experience that many Michigan auto accident victims’ family members will ever have to endure.
For help from a lawyer now, call Michigan Auto Law at (800) 777-0028. There is no fee or obligation, and we are here to answer all of your questions.
Recovering compensation and damages for a wrongful death that was caused by another driver’s negligence is a legally challenging and complex process, and that’s why it’s important to have a very experienced wrongful death lawyer on your side.
There are specific wrongful death laws and statutes that apply and must be followed. There are also specific legal recoveries available for wrongful death that are not applicable in other personal injury cases. And, depending on how the death was caused, there are also important notice provisions that must be complied with or any potential wrongful death accident claim could be barred.
Our wrongful death lawyers are familiar with these special laws and timelines, because we have been protecting car accident victims and truck accident victims for more than 50 years. Take a look at our record-breaking verdicts and settlements, client testimonials and our 100 percent client satisfaction guarantee.
Yes. Under Michigan law, the family members of a person who was killed in a Michigan car accident, as result of another driver’s negligence have a right to sue for their loved one’s wrongful death. (MCL 600.2922)
At a minimum, the following four things must be proved in a wrongful death accident lawsuit (MCL 600.2922):
Pain and suffering compensation, which is also referred to as noneconomic loss, is recoverable. (MCL 600.2922(6); see also MCL 500.3135)
Additionally, there are other monetary recoveries available, such as monetary damages to replace the earnings that the deceased would have contributed to the family.
Below is a list of the most common monetary damage awards in wrongful death cases (MCL 600.2922(6)):
Here’s more information about survivors’ loss following a wrongful death car accident.
The personal representative of your family member’s or loved one’s estate would sue on behalf of the estate. (MCL 600.2922(2)) Here’s more information about who can file a wrongful death lawsuit.
Yes. The estate’s personal representative could be the deceased’s spouse, children, grandparents or other relatives. Any of the wrongful death attorneys at Michigan Auto Law would be happy to discuss with you the pros and cons of such a decision. Call us at (800) 777-0028 for help now.
This is a complicated, but necessary process, involves going to probate court for appointment of the personal representative. If this isn’t done correctly, then the case for pain and suffering compensation and other monetary damages may get thrown out of court.
Unfortunately, the probate process has proved to be a frequent source of confusion for family members and lawyers who are sufficiently familiar with representing the families of victims who were killed in car or truck accidents. Again, any of the wrongful death attorneys at Michigan Auto Law would be happy to discuss this with you.
The answer to this question is neither simple nor straightforward, but it does demonstrate the importance of talking to one of the highly experienced wrongful death lawyers at Michigan Auto Law if you believe an accident caused the wrongful death of your family member or loved one.
The period of time during which a wrongful death accident lawsuit can be filed (i.e., the statute of limitations) is generally three years. (MCL 600.5805(10))
Plus, within 30 days of filing a wrongful death accident lawsuit, notice must be served on all persons who may be entitled to recover from any eventual wrongful death verdict or settlement. (MCL 600.2922(2))
To complicate things even more, these rules may be affected, altered, modified or supplemented if the wrongful death accident lawsuit is being brought on behalf of the decedent’s own auto insurance policy.
Many people have additional auto insurance coverage that includes uninsured and underinsured motorist protection in an insurance policy. The time limitations for these additional contracts can be shorter than the time to file a lawsuit against the negligent driver.
For all of the reasons above, it is strongly recommended you talk to one of the highly experienced wrongful death attorneys at Michigan Auto Law to make sure that crucial legal rights to wrongful death compensation and damages are not inadvertently extinguished and lost forever. Call us at (800) 777-0028 and we can answer all of your questions.
The following survivors may entitled to a portion of the ultimate wrongful death recovery:
Yes. Because Michigan is a No-Fault law state, and many states are not, the legal remedies available after a wrongful death caused by an auto accident are limited by Michigan’s No-Fault insurance law and, thus, are different from the remedies available in other, non-No-Fault states.
When someone has been killed in a car accident as the result of another person’s carelessness or negligence, Michigan’s Wrongful Death Act (MCL 600.2922) provides a broader range of remedies than are available to victims of non-fatal Michigan auto accidents.
Additionally, a wrongful death claim resulting from a Michigan auto accident will almost always involve probate proceedings, which is a frequent source of confusion for personal injury lawyers and family members. Failure to properly set up an estate or to give proper notice to relatives of a person killed in an underlying wrongful death claim will delay and even jeopardize the settlement of a death claim.
Yes. A child who has lost a parent can sue for more than the compensation and damages specifically identified in the Wrongful Death Act (and discussed above). The child can also sue for “loss of gifts or other valuable gratuities” and “loss of parental training and guidance,” according to the Michigan Supreme Court’s Standard Jury Instruction for wrongful death damages, SJI2d 45.02.
No. A 1997 Michigan Court of Appeals decision in Setterington v. Pontiac General Hospital specifically rejected the argument.
No. Michigan courts have ruled that the Wrongful Death Act places no time or age restrictions on recovery for “loss of financial support” due to the wrongful death of a family member or loved one resulting from a Michigan auto accident.
Paying for the legal services of the highly experienced wrongful death lawyers at Michigan Auto Law is easy, because we work on a contingency basis. You will not have to write large retainer checks, or any checks at all for that matter. We receive a fee at the end of the lawsuit as a percentage of the settlement or verdict. And if we don’t win and recover for you, then you pay nothing.
Call us at (800) 777-0028 today. We can answer all of your questions and help you recover after the tragic loss of a loved one. You can also fill out our consultation form.
There’s no downside to contacting an attorney with questions and concerns.