Last year, Gov. Rick Snyder signed the repeal of Michigan’s motorcycle helmet requirement, allowing our motorcyclists to ride with the wind in their hair. Since then, we’ve had many clients and friends ask our attorneys about the age requirement to go without a motorcycle helmet following the law change.
The motorcycle helmet age requirement in Michigan is as follows:
- A person younger than 21 years old still must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation when operating or riding on a motorcycle.
- The requirement that an individual younger than 19 years old must wear a helmet if operating a moped on a public roadway is unchanged.
- Motorcycle riders who are at least 21 may ride without helmets — only if they carry additional No Fault insurance and have passed a motorcycle safety course, or have had their motorcycle endorsement for at least two years.
It’s always our advice to wear a motorcycle helmet regardless of your age and whether or not you’re legally allowed to forego the helmet.
Helmets save lives, period.
For information about minors on motorcycles, including passenger laws and age requirements for a motorcycle endorsement, check out our recent blog post, Minors on motorcycles: What are the laws in Michigan?