The lawyers in Michigan Auto Law’s pre-suit division are the first point of contact for people who have been in car accidents and are seeking legal help. In directing clients through the early stages of their cases before lawsuits are filed, they answer countless questions about everything related to a Michigan car accident case, from the no-fault law to insurance benefits and attendant care. Here is one of the most popular questions posed by auto accident victims:
Q. How much money can I get for my car damage from the accident?
A: Whether you receive compensation for your vehicle that was destroyed in a car accident or truck accident is based on what is specified in your individual insurance policy regarding coverage for collision and property damage.
However, according to Michigan law, you are entitled to up to $500 for mini tort coverage for any deductible that insurance doesn’t otherwise pay. In other words, if you have a $500 deductible for $5,000 worth of car repair, you can get the $500 deductible back from the at-fault party’s insurance company.
Visit our Web page on mini tort for sample mini tort letters. The letters ask the insurance company for the money you are entitled for your car accident damage.
More on Michigan Mini Tort
The term mini tort refers to limited property damage liability. Again, mini tort allows for accident victims to recover up to $500 of their vehicle repair costs.
Under the no-fault act, the state of Michigan has mandated coverage for personal injury protection (PIP), property protection such as road signs, fences and buildings; and residual liability coverage for cases where death or injury are involved. The state does not, however, require collision coverage. That is where the mini-tort provision comes into play. There are varying degrees of collision insurance, but generally speaking, it covers the cost of repairs to the driver’s own vehicle.
Repairs can get costly.
If you are without collision coverage on your car, or your coverage is limited, and you are less than 50 percent at-fault for the accident, you can recoup some of your out-of-pocket costs to fix your car via the mini-tort exception.
How much you can recover depends on how much fault you bear for the accident. For instance, let’s say the damage to your car amounts to $100 and the other driver is deemed 75 percent at fault for the accident. Then he or she would pay $75.
These cases are normally handled in a small claims court, but either party involved in the Michigan car crash may ask to have the case moved up to a higher jurisdiction.
Michigan Personal Injury Lawyers
The lawyers in our pre-suit division evaluate and prepare new cases. They also help clients navigate through complex and sometimes conflicting health insurance plans in order to receive all necessary treatment and care available. The pre-suit lawyers pride themselves on preparing a strong foundation for each case, so that if a lawsuit must be filed, the client is in the best possible position as litigation commences. Meanwhile, they work with insurance company adjusters to settle cases in their early stages favorably and quickly whenever possible.
Here is a video of one of our pre-suit lawyers, Jeffrey Bussell, giving the ins and outs of mini-tort claims.
If you have been in a car accident and are unsure of your rights or you do not understand your no-fault insurance plans, please give Michigan Auto Law a call for a free consultation with no obligation at (800) 777-0028. We are readily available to answer questions and concerns.
Michigan Auto Law exclusively handles car accident, truck accident and motorcycle accident cases throughout the entire state of Michigan. We have offices in Farmington Hills, Detroit, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids and Sterling Heights.