Governor Snyder recently signed legislation changing the Michigan Small Claims Courts maximum jurisdictional amount in controversy from $3,000 to $5,000. This means you can sue for up to $5,000 in small claims damages.
The increase went into effect on September 1, 2012. The jurisdictional limit will periodically increase up to $7,000 by January 1, 2024.
The increase benefits everyone. I realize no one really likes having to hire lawyers, and it is particularly exasperating when the cost and fees of hiring a lawyer is going to match or surpass the amount you can sue for and recover. So this benefits both businesses and individuals.
Many people in auto accidents often ask our lawyers about the costs for small claims and how small claims court works in Michigan. This is often after people are involved in a fender-bender and they have questions about getting their vehicle damage paid for and how the Michigan mini tort law works. We hope the following information helps.
Costs to file in small claims court are as follows:
Claim amount Filing fee
$1-$650 $25 + cost of certified mail or personal service
$651-$1,750 $45 + cost of certified mail or personal service
$1,751-$3,000 $65 + cost of certified mail or personal service