Call Today (888) 369-5909

What is Michigan’s car seat law?

Michigan car seat law

Many parents aren’t familiar with the car seat law in Michigan. According to the State of Michigan, Michigan’s child passenger safety law requires the following:

  • Children younger than age 4 to ride in a car seat in the rear seat. If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may only ride in the front seat if the airbag is turned off.
  • Children to be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall. Children must ride in a seat until they reach the age requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes first.

What you can do to protect your child in the car

Car crashes are the leading killer of children 1 to 12 years old in the United States, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). I say this not to scare parents, but to show that child fatalities due to auto accidents are very common and very real.

But you can easily protect your children by putting them in the right car seat and the right time considering their age and weight, and making sure your car seat is installed properly.

Here are some car seat and booster seat basics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

And here are a few NHTSA car seat safety tips:

    • Select a car seat based on your child’s age and size.
    • Choose a seat that fits in your car— and use it every time you drive with your child.
    • Always refer to your specific car seat manufacturer’s instructions. Read the vehicle owner’s manual on how to install the car seat using the seat belt or LATCH system.
    • Remember to check height and weight limits.
    • Keep your child in the car seat for as long as possible, as long as the child fits within the manufacturer’s height and weight requirements.
    • Keep your child in the back seat at least through age 12.

– Photo courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Related information:

Can you get a ticket in Michigan for using an “expired” car seat?

Posted in: Car Accidents, Child Safety and tagged .

3 comments on “What is Michigan’s car seat law?

  1. I am trying to find out when we can turn the car seat to face forward. My Granddaughter is one year old and weighs 45 Lbs. She hates riding backwards so i would like to turn it around but don’t want to be unsafe or break any law. I can’t find anywhere it plainly says when I can turn the seat around.

  2. Marshall on said:

    what are the requirements for a child to sit in the front seat in Michigan? I see alot of suggestions but there is no real clarity for what are the rules for a minor to sit in the front seat.

    • Steven Gursten on said:

      Hi Marshall,
      Thanks for reading. According to Michigan’s car seat law, children must be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

HTML tags are not allowed.